3 things I miss about being pregnant

The entire time that I was pregnant, I repeatedly told my best friend to remind me that I never want to go through it again. During labor, I literally told my husband “never again”. They always say “you forget all of the pain as soon as you look into your babies eyes”.

They’re lying. Pregnancy takes a toll on your body. Five months postpartum and I still cringe at the thought of morning sickness, back pain and acid reflux.

That being said, there are a few things that I truly miss about pregnancy.

Three, to be exact. I miss three things.

1. My Husband Taking Care of Me

My husband was the sweetest man alive whileI was pregnant. Seriously, he went and got me any and all cravings. He helped me with household chores. He cuddled me during daily crying fits and let me nap in his lap. When I couldn’t sleep at night because I was so uncomfortable, he’d sit up with me and talk. When I struggled to get out of my seat, he’d help me stand. During labor, he calmed every fear I had, held my hair back when things got gross, drove me all around middle tennessee until we could finally get admitted, and everything else in between. As mothers and wives, it seems like we’re always tending to our nest. We’re always wiping a kid off or folding our husbands underwear or feeding the whole house. So, It’s nice to be taken care of, sometimes.

2. The Baby Kicks

This is my main reason. I’m telling you, very few things in this world are as exciting as feeling your baby kick for the first time. It’s such a reassuring feeling. It’s a little tickle in your tummy that let’s you know everything is okay. It reminds you that, for now, right now, your baby is so safe. You get so used to sleeping that way, you feel lonely once the belly is gone and your baby is on the outside. Its close to indescribable, honestly. I really didn’t think that I would miss it, but I almost ache to feel his little kicks one more time.

3. The Bump

Girl. GIRL. I don’t know how many women can relate to this one, but I miss that baby bump! I miss the way my clothes fit over my tummy like a little basketball. I miss having somewhere to put my hands when I feel awkward (which is often). I felt cute pregnant. I’m not sure if it’s a subconscious thing, telling my myself that “now I have an excuse to wear leggings with no judgement”, but my confidence and self esteem sky rocketed when I had a pregnant belly.

Okay, okay. I’ll be honest, I’d go back and do every bit of pregnancy over again. Pregnancy is no fun, but loving your little one is the most amazing thing ever.

So, to any mamas out there struggling with the “pregnancy blues”, I see you. I get it. You will not forget it BUT it will be worth it in the end. I promise.