be good. still good.

Good morning, 2019.

Mom life is a tough gig man. I was asleep by 10pm last night! What about you?

I don’t normally make resolutions, mostly because I don’t usually see a point. Why wait until the new year to change your ways or make a difference? This year, however, I’m giving it a shot.

2018 was a tough year for me and my family. While it was by far the best we could’ve asked for, it was also very trying.

My husband returned from a deployment in February, we welcomed our son to the world in April and we closed on our first home in July, all while dealing with the trials and tribulations of marriage (right out of the honeymoon phase) and dealing with a lot of mental illness.

I spent a lot of time shedding tears and tearing myself to pieces in 2018. So here are my three resolutions for 2019, plus a bonus, for good measure.

RAISE A GOOD HUMAN

My son is a week shy of 9 months old. He’s mobile and so smart. He’s learning a lot every single day. I won’t lie, I cuss a lot. I say ugly things, make unfair assumptions frequently and can sometimes be a little selfish. We all have our faults. That being said, I want my son to grow up loving everyone and spreading kindness around like confetti. Kids watch us more than we think. They want to be just like mom and dad. My number one and most important resolution for 2019 is to lead by example and teach my son to be genuine and caring. When I was 18 I had “act without expectation” tattooed on my arm, and while sometimes I lose touch, those are the most meaningful words to my heart. It means to do good, even if you know you won’t receive anything in return. My biggest hope in life is that they hold close to my children’s hearts as well.

SELF CARE, SELF LOVE

I lost myself quite a bit in becoming a mom. I stopped doing my hair and makeup. I stopped doing my nails and dressing cute. I quit buying things for myself. I started rushing through my personal and private times, such a showers and what not. I put so much energy into our kid that I drained myself. Worse than that, I didn’t refill myself either. My goal for 2019 is to take an hour or two a week to recharge. Read a book. Eat in peace. Relax. Untouched. It’s hard to remember that you’re still important once you have a little one depending on you 24/7 but as the great Shel Silverstein once said, “I can be someone else’s and still be my own”.

BE A NICE WIFE

This is one that I HAVE to keep, no matter what. As you know, I’ve dealt with a lot of PPD, causing me to be very ugly towards my husband much too often. He’s a great man. No. He’s a perfect man. He does more than I could put into words for our family, and I have no clue how to repay him for his love and generosity. He’s the most patient man alive, seriously. All of these things, and yet I still throw trash at him (no not literally). I still make snarky comments and complain about simple, incomplete tasks, such as taking out the trash or mild clutter. This year, starting from the second I opened my eyes this morning, Ive decided to stop before I say anything to my husband. I’ve decided to think about how he feels and consider the context. I’ve decided to stop with the “small, joking” arguments because they turn into big and serious fights. I’ve decided to love unconditionally and allow him to be as much himself as possible, because while I deserve a break from life sometimes, so does he, and he rarely takes the time.

***bonus resolution***

START BLOGGING MORE!!!!

This one goes hand in hand with self care. Writing is something that I genuinely enjoy and it’s a positive outlet. Since October, I’ve been trying out new jobs (to no avail) and busy stressing about the holidays that I dropped off the blog completely. But, you can’t just abandon something you love. So in 2019, I am determined to post at least one entry a week, if not more. I’m determined to add lots of new content, collaborate and work with affiliates, and drive a lot more traffic this way. I’m obviously biased, but I feel as if I could positively influence a lot of mamas and wife’s if I put my mind in the right place.

So please, if you have ANY ideas for entry’s or collaborations, contact me! I’d love to hear from you, and of course-

Welcome to 2019. We’re still good.